LiftLaws.com Logo






Arizona Street Legal Laws

California Street Legal Laws



Arkansas Lift Laws and Vehicle Equipment Laws


Arkansas is very off-road friendly, it does not have any suspension lift laws, frame height laws, body lift laws or even bumper height laws. Residents of Arkansas are free to modify their vehicles by installing suspension lift kits, aftermarket wheels and tires, performance shocks, aftermarket bumpers, and grille guards.






Governing Laws

Code

The Arkansas Code (AC) covers the street legal laws for the state.

AC Title 27






Vehicle Dimensions

Dimensions

Vehicle size in Arkansas cannot exceed 102 inches wide, 13 feet 6 inches tall, or 40 feet long for a single vehicle.

AC 27-35-206
AC 27-35-207
AC 27-35-208






Tire Restrictions

Tires

Arkansas requires only that tires be in safe operating condition, without any bulges or exposed cords. There is no specific minimum tread depth and the code has no information on the legality of tire grooving.

AC 27-37-401






Wheel Restrictions

Wheels

Arkansas's code makes no reference to wheels, however, they do need to be safe.






Braking Requirements

Brakes

Vehicles driven in Arkansas are required to have brakes on all 4 wheels. The brakes must be capable of decelerating the vehicle at a rate of 14 feet per second. A secondary, mechanical, parking brake is required.

AC 27-37-501
AC 27-37-502






Steering Laws

Steering

Arkansas does not have any specific rules for a vehicle's steering system.






Suspension Laws

Suspension

There are no suspension lift limits in Arkansas.






Frame Requirements

Frame

Arkansas does not have a vehicle frame height limit.






Bumper Restrictions

Bumpers

There is no information on bumpers in the Arkansas code.






Fender Requirements

Fenders

It is unknown if fenders or mud flaps are required in Arkansas as the code makes no reference to them.






Lighting Requirements

Lights

In addition to headlights and tail lights, vehicles in Arkansas are allowed to have several additional lights installed. When a vehicle is equipped with extra lighting, the maximum number of lights that can be on in the front of the vehicle is 4.


Light

Number

Min. Height

Max. Height

Headlights

2 min.

24 inches

54 inches

Tail lights

1 min.

20 inches

72 inches

Spot lights

2 max.

n/a

n/a

Fog lights

2 max.

12 inches

30 inches

Aux. passing lights

2 max.

24 inches

42 inches

Aux. driving lights

2 max.

16 inches

42 inches


( Measured to the center of the light. )



AC 27-36-209
AC 27-36-215
AC 27-36-214
AC 27-36-207






Window Laws

Windows

The Arkansas code does not specifically state whether windshields are required, although, vehicles with windshields are required to have windshield wipers.

AC 27-37-303






Exhaust Requirements

Exhaust

In Arkansas, vehicles are required to have mufflers and it is prohibited to install any kind of exhaust cutout or bypass.

AC 27-37-601
AC 27-37-602






Engine Swap Rules

Engine

Nitrous oxide is prohibited in Arkansas.

AC 27-37-803






Emissions Testing

Emissions

Arkansas does not currently require vehicle emissions testing.

Related Sites


Crawlpedia
Off-Road Parts
Drivetrain Parts

Sponsored Links


King Shocks
King OEM Shocks
King UTV Shocks
Mud Truck Parts
Lockers & Gears
Off-Road Tires
Sticky Race Tires
Beadlock Wheels
Racing Seats

Additional Support










Homepage | Disclaimer & Copyright Information | Contact Us




All images, icons, photos, backgrounds and text found on this website are Copyright ©2009 - Filthy Motorsports, LLC
This site is covered by the FilthyMotorsports.com site terms and conditions of use agreement