California Street Legal Laws

Connecticut Street Legal Laws

Colorado Lift Laws and Vehicle Equipment Laws

Colorado's code is, unfortunately, not written very clearly. The section on suspension modifications states only that the manufacturer's original design must not be altered. It is believed that suspension lifts are still allowed as long as they are of the same design (leaf springs, for example) as the factory suspension system. Other than that, aftermarket wheels and tires, performance shocks, aftermarket bumpers, and grille guards are allowed.

Governing Laws


The Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS) and Code of Colorado Regulations (CCR) explain the street legal laws for the state.

CRS Title 42
CCR Title 204

Vehicle Dimensions


The maximum vehicle size in Colorado is 102 inches wide, 13 feet tall, and 45 feet long for a single vehicle.

CRS 42-4-502
CRS 42-4-504

Tire Restrictions


Tires must be in safe operating condition, without any bulges or exposed cords. Colorado requires a minimum tire tread depth of 1/16 inch. It is unclear if tire grooving is permitted.

CRS 42-4-228

Wheel Restrictions


Colorado's code makes no reference to wheels.

Braking Requirements


All vehicles in Colorado must have brakes on all 4 wheels capable of stopping the vehicle from a speed of 20 mph within 45 feet. A secondary, mechanical, parking brake is also required.

CRS 42-4-223

Steering Laws


Colorado does not have any rules for a vehicle's steering system.

Suspension Laws


In Colorado, it is illegal to drive a vehicle with the front or rear suspension system altered or changed from the manufacturer's original design. Heavy duty springs and shock absorbers are allowed to be installed.

Note: This law was found to be unconstitutionally overboard (People v. Von Tersch).

CRS 42-4-233

Frame Requirements


Colorado does not have a vehicle frame height restriction.

Bumper Restrictions


There is no reference to bumpers in either of Colorado's codes.

Fender Requirements


Fenders and mud flaps are not listed in Colorado's laws.

Lighting Requirements


In addition to headlights and tail lights, vehicles in Colorado are allowed to have auxiliary lighting. When a vehicle is equipped with extra lighting, the maximum number of lights that can be turned on in the front of the vehicle is 4.



Min. Height

Max. Height


2 min.

16 inches

44 inches

Tail lights

1 min.

20 inches

72 inches

Spot lights

2 max.



Fog lights

2 max.

12 inches

30 inches

Aux. passing lights

2 max.

20 inches

42 inches

Aux. driving lights

2 max.

16 inches

42 inches

( Measured to the center of the light. )

CRS 42-4-212
CRS 42-4-206
CRS 42-4-214
CRS 42-4-219

Window Laws


Colorado's code references many rules on windshields but it does not state whether or not they are required. If a vehicle is equipped with a windshield, it must also have windshield wipers.

CRS 42-4-227

Exhaust Requirements


In Colorado, vehicles are required to be equipped with mufflers and it is prohibited to install any kind of exhaust cutout or bypass.

CRS 42-4-225

Engine Swap Rules


All engine changes in Colorado must pass a technical inspection. The engine must be fuel injected and be of the same year or newer than the original engine. Emissions standards for the year of the new engine will apply to the vehicle.

CCR 204-11-407

Emissions Testing


Several counties in Colorado require annual or bi-annual emissions testing.

Related Sites

Off-Road Parts
Drivetrain Parts

Sponsored Links

King Shocks
King OEM Shocks
King UTV Shocks
Mud Truck Parts
Lockers & Gears
Off-Road Tires
Sticky Race Tires
Beadlock Wheels
Racing Seats

Additional Support

Homepage | Disclaimer & Copyright Information | Contact Us

All images, icons, photos, backgrounds and text found on this website are Copyright ©2009 - Filthy Motorsports, LLC
This site is covered by the site terms and conditions of use agreement